Default featured image

First Annual Blockchain Awards Wrap Up: Here Are The Winners

Avatar Jayanand Sagar 5 years ago

At Bitcoin 2014, the first annual Blockchain Awards has wrapped up, with a ceremony that honored recipients in ten different categories. The event was highly-anticipated — hosted by CEO Nicolas Cary and Bitcoin Foundation Chairman Peter Vessenes.

With further delay, here are the winners, as provided by bitcoin news website CoinDesk.

  • Most Impactful Charity: The Bitcoin Society
  • Most Creative Video: I am Satoshi
  • Most Informative Podcast: Let’s Talk Bitcoin
  • Most Influential Investor: Marc Andreessen
  • Best ATM Design: Lamassu BTC
  • Most Insightful Journalist: Ryan Selkis
  • Best Mobile App: Mycelium (Megion) Android Wallet
  • Bitcoin Legal Expert: Marco Santori
  • Visionary Academic Paper: Satoshi Nakamoto
  • Bitcoin Champion: Matthew Kenahan

The award for Bitcoin Champion was originally slated to go to Andreas Antonopoulos, but he passed it to Matthew Kenahan, who also won the award for Most Impactful Charity with his work on The Bitcoin Society.

Kenahan has reportedly said that he will be donating associated award money to the Women’s Annex Foundation.

In a humorous twist, Chief Scientist at the Bitcoin Foundation Gavin Andresen dressed as a mad scientists of sorts and accepted the award for Visionary Academic Paper, which went to bitcoin creator Satoshi Nakamoto.

The voting period for the Blockchain Awards lasted approximately three weeks.

Next year’s Blockchain Awards are (not surprisingly) slated to take place at Bitcoin 2015.

Tags: BitStarz Player Lands $2,459,124 Record Win! Could you be next big winner?

Instant loans by local bank transfer using your crypto as collateral without selling it. Earn up to 6.5% interest per year on your Stablecoins & EUR.


Kucoin is the most trusted crypto exchange with 200 tokens.

Show comments